Funded Projects

Search Criteria:

  • Year(s): 2017














  • Region(s): Western ERME



  • State(s): All


















  • Topic(s): All

    • Production




      Marketing




      Financial






      Legal




      Human



  • Audience Group(s): All
















17 records returned

Expand All?


 

Benchmarking -- Farm/Ranch Enterprises to Identify Strengths and Weaknesses and Implementation of Strategic Business Planning for South Central Utah Beginning Farmers and Ranchers

Award Amount: $48,478
Institution: Snow College
Project Director: Jay Olsen (jay.olsen@snow.edu)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
This project will increase participants' management knowledge and ability to... More

Building Climate Resilience via Agroecology and Learning Networks

Award Amount: $49,990
Institution: MESA, Inc.
Project Director: Natalia Pinzon (natalia@mesaprogram.org)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
Our project will enable farmers to utilize online courses and... More

Diversifying Revenue with Value Added Production and Marketing

Award Amount: $23,743
Institution: San Juan RC&D
Project Director: Beth LaShell (bblashell@gmail.com)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
Small vegetable and fruit farmers in the 4-Corners region have... More

Education to reduce timber grower risks from invasive plants

Award Amount: $30,894
Institution: Washington State University
Project Director: Kevin Zobrist (kevin.zobrist@wsu.edu)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
We propose a series of four regional, comprehensive, full-day, hands-on field... More

Enhancing Direct Market Fresh Produce Sales through Multi-Market Pricing Comparisons

Award Amount: $49,431
Institution: Utah State University
Project Director: Kynda Curtis (kynda.curtis@usu.edu)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
This project seeks to increase fresh produce sales through direct... More

Farm-Based Workshops for Food Safety Risk Assessment and Hazard Mitigation

Award Amount: $49,496
Institution: La Montanita Coop
Project Director: Benjamin Bartley (benjamin.bartley@lamontanita.coop)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
The Value Chain Team at La Montanita Cooperative will provide... More

Growing Montana Food Businesses: Workshops in Understanding Montana’s Food Policy Modernization Law and Mitigating Production Risk from Value-Added Products.

Award Amount: $50,000
Institution: Alternative Energy Resources Organization (AERO)
Project Director: Kaleena Miller (kmiller@aeromt.org)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
Montana’s new Food Policy Modernization Law (MFPML) offers an unprecedented opportunity... More

High Efficiency Sprinkler Irrigation in the Lower Arkansas Valley, Colorado: Balancing economic risks of adoption with pollution risks from not adopting

Award Amount: $48,398
Institution: Colorado State University
Project Director: Dana Hoag (dhoag@colostate.edu)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
Two workshops will be offered to furrow-irrigation producers in... More

Idaho Grain and Livestock Risk Management Education

Award Amount: $38,300
Institution: Idaho Barley Commission
Project Director: Kelly Olson (kolson@barley.idaho.gov)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
This educational program is targeted at Idaho's grain and livestock... More

Managing Market and Financial Risk through Farm Stand and Agri-tourism Education

Award Amount: $45,454
Institution: Oregon State University Extension
Project Director: Maud Powell (maud.powell@oregonstate.edu)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
This project will address the legal, market and financial risks... More

Navajo Rancher Sustainability Project

Award Amount: $47,880
Institution: New Mexico Cooperative Extension Service
Project Director: Michael Patrick (jmpat@nmsu.edu)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
This project will seek to increase the profitability and sustainability... More

Providing Financial and Business Strategies to Oregon Fisherman to Manage Climate Variability Impacting their Markets

Award Amount: $2,000
Institution: LD Consulting, Inc.
Project Director: Kent FLEMING (kent.fleming@oregonstate.edu)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Exploratory Projects
Summary
... More

Risk Assessment and Management Education for Dairy Producers in the Western Region

Award Amount: $37,073
Institution: Regents of the University of Idaho
Project Director: Hernan Tejeda (htejeda@uidaho.edu)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
This project addresses risk management education topics covering production risk, marketing... More

Risk Management for Hawaii Women Farmers

Award Amount: $48,801
Institution: Oahu Resource Conservation and Dev Council
Project Director: Jean Brokish (jean.brokish@oahurcd.org)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
Oahu RC&D will host a series of four workshops across Hawaii... More

Risk Management Mentoring and Education Program for Veteran Beginning Farmers and Ranchers

Award Amount: $37,674
Institution: Spokane Conservation District
Project Director: Vicki Carter (vicki-carter@sccd.org)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
This project will prepare farmer and rancher mentors to train... More

Risk Management Training for Latino Farmers of Specialty Crops in Oregon

Award Amount: $48,653
Institution: Adelante Mujeres
Project Director: Alejandro Tecum (atecum@adelantemujeres.org)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
Lead applicant Adelante Mujeres will ensure that Latino producers of specialty... More

Sustainable Hawaii Avocado Production for Market Expansion

Award Amount: $27,899
Institution: University of Hawaii Office of Research Services
Project Director: Alyssa Cho (acho@hawaii.edu)
Funding Opportunity: Western ERME - 2017 Education Projects
Summary
This project addresses the production and economic risks associated with product... More
 

Recent Awards

North Central
Northeast
Southern
Western

Extension RME Regional Centers